Confluence Board of Directors announces new members
Confluence Board of Directors announces new members
Posted on 06/27/2014
logoThe Board of Directors of Confluence Charter Schools announced six new members at its June 27 meeting.

The Board nominated and selected Holston Black III, Katherine Casas, Craig H. Larson, Lance LeComb, Leona Lucas and Jose A. Pineda to serve terms beginning in 2014-2015. Terms range from two-years to three-years, with opportunities to continue their service for future terms.

The Confluence Board structure calls for a minimum of seven members and a maximum of 11. Four current members stepped down from the board at the end of June 2014 – Sonya G. Henry, chair; Jennifer S. Kovar, vice chair; Dr. Harvey Fields and Dr. Susan Uchitelle, chair emerita and founder.

The full board includes existing members Thurman L. Brooks, Jeanice L. Baker and Robert Goldson. The board will elect its officers after a retreat on July 14; Goldson was named interim chair until elections are held.

Confluence began seeking prospective candidates for the board in mid-winter. Candidates are asked to submit a current resume and complete forms required by Confluence to be recommended for acceptance. Candidates should have experience in one or more areas: Academics, Finance, Governance, Human/Public Relations, Arts and Fundraising. The process to fill vacancies on the Board was open to the community.

Confluence Charter Schools, a public charter school network, was founded in 2000 and opened its first school in August 2003. Confluence has five schools in the City of St. Louis, serving students in kindergarten through 12th grade. The schools are Confluence Academy-Old North, Confluence Academy-South City, Confluence Academy-Walnut Park, Confluence Preparatory Academy and Grand Center Arts Academy. Confluence has two sponsors – University of Missouri-Columbia and Saint Louis University.

For more information about the board members and their experience, visit the Board Members web page.

Board 2014-15

Front row: Dr. Craig Larson, Jeanice Baker, Dr. Jose Pineda, Katherine Casas
Back row: Leona Lucas, Robert Goldson, Lance LeComb, Holston Black III
Not pictured: Thurman Brooks